The Comedians Top Ten- Number 1

December 20, 2013

Here we go! After nine long days it is time to put you out of, or into, your misery.

I’ve been taking a look at the Top Ten Comedy DVD’s according to Amazon, and then reviewing them by the state of their cover alone. But a funny thing has happened since I first searched out the list on the 11th December.

I’m going to show you the list from 10 through to 2 that I found on the 11th December. And then I’ll show you the list as it stands today. See if you can spot the funny thing.

Here’s my list from the 11th December (without yet revealing number 1):

10- The Channel 4 Comedy Gala 2013

9- Peter Kay

8- Kevin Bridges

7- Jimmy Carr

6- Eddie Izzard

5- Sean Lock

4- Jack Dee

3- Bill Bailey

2- Greg Davies

And now, here’s Amazon’s Top Ten as of today (and I’ll save the number 1 til the end too!):

10- Peter Kay (but a different DVD)

9- Roy ‘Chubby’ Brown

8- Def Comedy Jam

7- Jethro

6- World’s Greatest Stand-Up

5- The Comedians

4- Jim Davidson

3- Stewart Lee

2- Channel 4’s Comedy Gala (but 2012, not 2013)

And no.1? Well, it’s a repeat of one of the above. But I’ll save the surprise.

And did you notice the funny thing that happened? Yes, that’s right! The list went from being pretty pretty good to being pretty pretty shit.

How did that happen? Is it based on sales? And if it is, did NO ONE (out of my 24 or so readers) pay any attention to my thorough reviews?

And how on earth did Stewart Lee and his Comedy Vehicle sneak in there at no.3? Now, don’t get me wrong; I’m glad Stewart Lee is in there. He’s my favourite comedian. Ever. (Though Frank Randle gives him a run for his money).

But truly, what gives?

And so, at last, here’s the proper (as in the 11th December list) Number 1. It’s…

Micky Flanagan

Micky Flanagan: “Back In The Game” Tour- Live

Yes! Micky Flanagan!

And he’s made my job easy. I’m reviewing this solely by the cover and Micky has wisely eschewed any fake stickers with silly newspaper bits declaring him to be this or that. It’s just him, with a bit of a cheeky title and a cheeky chappie grin. And, as I sit here typing, I say to my wife, “there’s not much to say really”. And she says, “Say he’s copied my walk”.

I like Micky Flanagan. And he makes me laugh. Though he has copied my wife’s walk.

Two 15 certificates. Suitable for 30 year olds.

But here’s the thing. You’re all (24 of you) waiting to find out who’s top of the Amazon chart today, aren’t you? Yes?

Well, it’s…

Jethro

Jethro Tull

It’s a 3 DVD boxset. It’s £5.75.

I wasn’t going to review this cover. It’s not part of the plan. And I don’t want Jethro stealing any of Micky’s thunder. But there is one point of great interest: Jethrol uses the fake sticker style favoured by yesterday’s no. 2, Greg Davies. But whereas Greg’s fake sticker was used to declare him “one of this country’s best comedians”, Jethro’s fake sticker is used to declare “contains new release”.

Contains new release. Contains new release.

Just say it a few times. Over and over.

Is it making you feel queasy? Contains new release.

Is it meant to be a joke?

Contains new release. What does it mean?

Maybe it’s just me, but I can’t help thinking… contains new release… I can’t help thinking Jethro has somehow spunked out his new video.

Maybe that’s what he wants us to think. Who knows? Who buys Jethro? What is he? And why doesn’t Ricky Tomlinson sue?

Leave a Reply

