Go Sober- The Kronenbourg emails

November 2, 2013

Go Sober for October has just finished. The whole campaign raised over £1.5m for Macmillan Cancer Support. Me and Zoe managed to get £1170 in sponsorship. A massive thank you to everyone who helped us reach that target.

Early on I’d set a notional target of £1664 (in honour of one of my favourite lagers). At the last minute I decided to get in touch with the Kronenbourg people. Nothing ventured blah blah blah.

Here’s the email I sent to them:

Dear Kronenbourg,

It’s been a difficult month! Go Sober, a month of no drinking, to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support. With just today to go I have raised £768. However, my target, in honour of my favourite beer, was £1664. Is there any way you, or any of your staff, can help me reach my target before tomorrow when I will once more enjoy a pint of Kronenbourg 1664?

I have been writing about my month of no drinking here: Go Sober. And if there is any way you can help out you can sponsor me and my wife here: Team Mr and Mrs Hickson.

I will be pestering everyone on Twitter one last time today (@simonmhickson) in an attempt to get to my proclaimed target of £1664. If there was any way at all in which you could help I will raise my glass of Kronenbourg to you and tweet of your support.

In some ways the idea of Go Sober for a month must appall you, but I am sure you will agree that doing it for Macmillan Cancer Support is the best reason. If you can only sponsor me the price of a pint, every little builds to my hoped for total of £1664.

With best wishes and thank you for the beer (and the lovely glasses it comes in),

Yours faithfully,

Simon Hickson

And here’s their reply:

Dear Mr Hickson

Thank you for your email outlining the sponsorship opportunity associated with Heineken UK.

I am sure you will not be surprised to learn that Heineken UK is frequently called upon to support a wide range of interesting and worthwhile activities.

Due to constraints on both time and financial resources, we are unable to lend our name and backing to more than a few of the many requests we receive and I regret to inform you that we must decline your request for support on this occasion.

I would like to thank you for bringing this opportunity to our attention, and wish you every success in the future.

Kind Regards

Maria Carter
Consumer Relations Executive

Oh well. It’s a little bit of a corporate response, but they did get back to me, which I appreciate. And I am sure they are called upon a lot.

As I scrolled down the email, wedged between Maria’s response and my original email there was another email from Tom, an assistant manager of a bar in Tunbridge Wells who was “basically in need of some assistance by either the commercial/sales team or the local representative in Tunbridge Wells”. I wonder how many local representatives Kronenbourg have. I like the idea. I hope Tom fared better than me.

Last night we went out and I had my first pint in a month. San Miguel.

Here’s another favourite Cronenberg.

Leave a Reply

