Go Sober- three days to go

September 28, 2013

Three days until Go Sober kicks off. It’s simple; I will go teetotal for 31 days, and I hope some of you will donate to Macmillan Cancer Support.

The aim is to raise £1664. It’s a lager thing. And now I am not on my own. My lovely wife Zoe has decided to join me. She’s giving up drinking for a month too.

Here’s the thing. Me giving up drinking is one thing. Zoe giving up is another thing. The two of us giving up is two things that add up to a whole lot of things. It’s not going to be easy. It’s not even going to be easier! It’s going to be like Mickey Rourke and Faye Dunaway in Barfly. Except in reverse. If you thought running a Marathon for charity was hard, then you’re an idiot!

Please help us two jokers get through this. And in so doing, you will be properly helping people who need proper help.

There are three ways of donating:

You can sponsor me by clicking on this highlighted sentence. It will take you to my GoSober page.

You can sponsor Zoe by clicking on this highlighted sentence. If you are quick you might become Zoe’s first sponsor.

You can sponsor us as Team Mr and Mrs Hickson by clicking on this.

To Simon, Clare, Vicky, Sophie, Gerald, Malcolm, Darren, Christine, and Christian; thank you for getting us off to a flying start before the month even begins.

And that’s a crucial thing. It’s still September. Later we will be going shopping. Zoe needs to get some tonic to go with the four G&T’s she claims she will drink tonight. I’ll be finishing off my bottle of Black Cow Milk Vodka that Zoe got me for my birthday.

We are not alcoholics. We do not condone or promote drinking to excess. We just really really really need to clear the house out.

 

 

Leave a Reply

