Comic Relief Challenge day 1- Come On Home

March 5, 2013

And so, first up in my ridiculous Comic Relief challenge (ridiculous because I am trying to raise £1986 by listening to some of my favourite music) is Come on Home, picked by @ianrkenilworth.

It’s a listen and learn thing. I will listen to a track a day and then let you know what I have learnt. Or learned. I have just learnt/learned that both uses are correct.

I’ve just listened. But hold on a mo. I now want to listen to the 12″ version on the second disc of the fantastic Baby, The Stars Shine Bright recent reissue.

Oh my.

The first thing I’ve learned (though I sort of knew this) is that this song will always make me cry. In a good way. When I got married to Zoe last July we had the song on our wedding playlist. Approaching 50 I felt like I had been away for far too long and that I was, at last, coming home.

Now, as I type, the CD has come round to the acoustic version. All three versions will get me going.

I think, until now, I have always misunderstood these two lines:

And every day’s like Christmas Day without you/ It’s cold and there’s nothing to do

I think I should understand it as Christmas Day being cold with nothing to do because it is a day without you.

Yet I have always though of it as Christmas Day is always cold with nothing to do, and that every day without you is like Christmas Day.

Have I articulated the difference? I am not so sure.

I put my reading down to being a 12 year old brought up on Sparks’ Thank God It’s Not Christmas, and, more generally, being an 80’s miserabilist (my computer doesn’t like that word, but I’m sticking with it).

Speaking of 80’s miserabilism (if there is such a thing… it’s just how we were) I’ve had a new thought about these lines:

Baby what’s keeping you all this time?/ You’re wasting your days out there in the sunshine/ And who can I turn to if you believe still/ That England don’t love you and she never will

Not a thought as such, more a memory; of Morrissey cruising around LA in an open-top Bentley, living next door to Nancy Sinatra.

On the cover of the CD, Ben Watt wears a suit made by Mr Eddie (I’ve just learned that, reading the sleeve notes).

0000664715_500

Years back, sometime in the early 90’s, I had a suit made by Mr Eddie.

simon pipe

And now, please enjoy Come On Home. And, if you’ve enjoyed reading this please give some money to Comic Relief, if you can.

Leave a Reply

