What is Brigitte Nielsen?

August 12, 2010

Yes. That’s my question today. What is Brigitte Nielsen? It’s not intended to be rude. Clearly she’s just a person, like you or I. So that’s one answer. But is she a movie star? A model? A singer? A reality TV star? The daughter/wife/sister of funnyman Leslie Nielsen? All of these things?

Heading off to see Step Up 3D before going on to the monthly BFI Film Quiz (Hey! We won!) I saw Brigitte (with ‘film stars’ we all feel like we know them well enough to use first name terms. Don’t we?) standing outside Cafe de Paris (Cafe of Paris) just passing the time. look! Here she is!

Look at me! I’m a paparazzi! look at that guy on the right. He didn’t move once during the 60 seconds or so I stood and gawped. I think he might be a heavy. I think he might be looking out for her. I also think he might have a nail-biting problem, but he knows he can’t do it in public so he’s settling for a good pick.

I wouldn’t normally dream of taking pictures of strangers without first asking. It’s just rude. But with these Hollywood folk it’s a little different. I still felt impertinent but I relaxed when I saw others taking pics and Brigitte not minding; in fact actively smiling and looking to the camera. Look! Almost my way!

What’s with the guy to her left? look at the first picture. Both of them can’t look her in the eye. It can’t just be because she is eight feet tall. Perhaps looking into her eyes turns men to stone. Maybe I had a lucky escape.

She posed with the public for a few photos, but I didn’t dare. It’s not often you can get this close to proper Hollywood stars. I once saw De Niro and Pacino in Leicester Square, but they were standing on a balcony above the Empire cinema (Brigitte could have walked passed and had a face to face conversation with them).

So well done Brigitte. Well done for stopping and shooting the breeze with the folk of London. For smiling for photos. And for having a nail-biting minder.

But what exactly are you? I’ll let the poll decide.

3 Responses to “What is Brigitte Nielsen?”

  1. Dom Williams said

    Hi Simon. How strange……. your photo of Brigitte with her minder also features…… my daughter Georgina (clutching her blue rucksack to ward off “pickerpockets” – just seen “Oliver”) and my mum Cathy!! I must have been stood close to you (also taking photos) as we were all in London to celebrate my 40th birthday. I’m afraid I was one of the pushy public and my mum asked Brigitte if she’d pose with me for a birthday shot. She did and also gave me a kiss! Lovely lady. Did you find out what she was doing there? Let me know if you’d like our photos too!!

  2. Simon Hickson said

    Hi Dom,

    Your poor daughter and mum- All they got was a view of Brigitte’s arse! And you were brave, getting a kiss as well as a photo. If your photo is up anywhere let me know and I’ll put up a link.

    So you’d have been a teenager when Brigitte first hit the scene in classics such as Rocky IV, Cobra and Beverly Hills Cop II. I’m sure meeting her on your 40th must have made your day. A belated Happy Birthday.

  3. Ted Fletcher said

    I knw what Brigitte is —- OUT OF YOUR LEAGUE ! ! ! !

Leave a Reply

