Kunsten Museum of Modern Art, Aalborg

June 21, 2010

I’ve just come back from a weekend in Aalborg, Denmark and whilst there we enjoyed a visit to Kunsten Museum of Modern Art.

The building was designed by Elissa and Alvar Alto and Jean-Jacques Baruel and built between 1968 and 1972. If this reads a little like An Idiots Guide to… that’s because I’m writing it. For more details go here. And look! He’s on a stamp!

The building itself is difficult to see and difficult to photograph, partly because when we visited there was no access to the Sculpture Park. A shame since we were there on such a beautiful day. However, it’s once you are inside that the true beauty of the building (and I can’t believe I am about to type this) literally comes to light.

The building serves the art;  not only through its astonishing ability to allow glorious light into all the right places, but also by its flexibility when it comes to housing works such as this exciting installation, You Too Can Be a Superhero,  by the Danish artist Ruth Campau.

AVPD can stand for Avoidant personality Disorder. It’s also the collective name for two artists, Aslak Vibaek and Peter Dossing. Now imagine the ‘a’ and the ‘e’ joined together and the ‘o’ with a line through it and you’ve got the Danish way. You can find out more about them here. I don’t know the name of this piece. It’s a dark corridor with an obtuse angle in the middle and a mirrored wall opposite the angle. it gives the impression of being two walkways. It’s not. I’m going to call it Funny Mirror Tunnel. I liked it. Here’s Zoe in it, not two people.

And here’s a view from inside.

I’ve drawn attention to some of the temporary exhibitions in the gallery. (There’s also a cycling thing which I had to pedal furiously on for ten minutes and of which we made a film. Give me a day or two and I’ll get that sorted.) But the gallery is also home to a permanent collection of Danish modern art from 1900 to the present day. Here’s a couple for you to enjoy, though I may get into trouble for putting pics up. I don’t know the rules on these things but I mean well.

Walking man IV (detail) by Kurt Trampedach

In the deep forest lives a drummer by Anders Brinch

6 Responses to “Kunsten Museum of Modern Art, Aalborg”

  1. Taragh said

    Love the funny tunnel one. Lovely work

  2. Samantha said

    I’m glad to see it’s not just a weird cycling museum!! (I read the posts the wrong way round) Looks good, I like the tunnel too.

  3. Simon Hickson said

    And the photos are all thanks to my lovely new camera.

  4. Andrew said

    Is that Roy Wood on the drums in the wood?

  5. Simon Hickson said

    Just what I thought.

Leave a Reply

