Goodbye car

May 13, 2010

Goodbye car. You’ve been with me a while. You’re the only car I’ve ever had, and, likely, the only car I ever will have.

A metallic green Ford Fiesta 1.6si bought in 1995 for about £10,000. I’d done my one and, so far, only advert. For Fruitang . An advert deal for £10,000. It’s ridiculous I know. Shame I only get these jobs once every… well, once.

Feeling flush, I decided to learn to drive. I passed my test on my second go. The first try I was 17. The next, 33.

And so I bought a car. I thought I’d maybe have it for three years and then, with a little bit left on the warranty, sell it and get something fancier.

But that’s not how things go. I’ve had it for 15 years now, and I’ve grown fond of it.

It was the only place I could listen to my cassettes. Proper ones as well as my student compilation ones; John Peel’s Festive 50 from 1984, Kimono My House by Sparks, my first ever cassette, bought in 1974 and only just, a few months ago, snapped.

All my cassettes were in the boot, carrier bags full of them. And a Jim Reeves boxed set. Lots of pairs of shoes. My boot was a spare room.

I hope whoever has my car is enjoying the music. If you’re reading this and you haven’t yet forced the boot open try getting them by removing the rear seat. Oh, and you’ll find my favourites and most listened to, along with my sunglasses, in the glove compartment.

Don’t look in the ashtray. There’s no ash. But there is a Close Encounters-like mountain of chewed gum. Sorry.

You may have smashed it by now. Or resprayed it. Or burnt it. Or washed it. I hope you’ve washed it. It was very dirty. Oh, and can you buy four new wheel trims? You’ll see that one is missing and it’s really difficult to find a matching one. I’d like it to look its best.

If you get fed up with it, or don’t like it, could you give it back please? That’d be nice.

7 Responses to “Goodbye car”

  1. Tom Sparke said

    Sad.
    I hope this story has a happy ending.

  2. rachel green said

    if i bought some Fruitang and mentioned your name, would that help?
    we love you Simon! please don’t be sad.

  3. SimonHG said

    That’s really bad news, Simon. I hope you get it back soon.
    We, The Hither Green *ahem* Massive, will keep everything peeled just in case.
    Perhaps somebody from Tescos with a grudge?

  4. Clare said

    Oh no, hope it comes back very soon.

  5. Simon Hickson said

    If you can find some! Thank you. I’m not sad. it’s just a shame, that’s all.

  6. Samantha said

    That IS sad. I’m sad about it.
    Poor you, and poor car…
    Great Sparks tape, me and my husband love Sparks! I’ve just bought their new whatever you call it, album, cd, download…it’s a though sung musical…it’s quite bizarre but I like it!

  7. Simon Hickson said

    Ah! The Seduction of Ingmar Bergman. I’ve listened to it on Spotify and enjoyed it very much. I think it was commissioned by Swedish National Radio, or something like that.

    Yes, just looked. more details here for any Sparks fans. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Seduction_of_Ingmar_Bergman
    I can’t wait for the film!

Leave a Reply

