Nazi stamps

March 31, 2010

It’s not something you expect to see, walking down St. Martins Lane; Nazi stamps. This is the heart of London’s Theatreland. What are Nazi stamps doing on display? It shocked me a little. For the shop to put this display up, alongside innocent bags of planes and sports and cars and birds (usually, if they’re like the ones from my childhood, from Magyar), well, it means there must be a demand.

But who wants Nazi stamps? Nazi lovers I guess. But surely, odd and  cruel bunch that they must be, they’d rather have a hat or a badge or a bayonet. A stamp seems a little coy for someone into race annihalation. It’d be like watching a Dr. Who deleted scene where the Daleks join the Sylvanian Families Collectors Club.

Who buys Nazi stamps? Sure, when we’re kids we all love the Nazis. They’re our favourite baddies. When I was young I drew this:

My teacher wisely gave me a B+. An A or above and who knows what kind of monster I may have become.

And so, like all children should, I left my brief flirtation with the Nazis behind. Oh, the jokey ones can still entertain; the zombies, the moon Nazis, the saucy werewolf ones. But now I’m grown up, the real ones, I avoid them. And their bloody stamps.

Who? I checked to see if Parsifal was on across the road at the Coliseum. Maybe the stamp dealer was hoping for some passing trade from those who love all things vaguely Nazi-ish. But no, just Swan Lake, which, at a stretch, you could describe as a little bit white.

I’ll be haunted by this display from now on. I don’t want it to be on St. Martins Lane. I like walking up and down the lane. I don’t want Third Reich stuff jumping out at me. What next? Will that little model car shop that I like looking in the window of, the one opposite the St. Martins Lane Hotel, will it be full of things like this? And will Starbucks recruit new staff?

Stop this London Theatreland Nazi nonsense now!

3 Responses to “Nazi stamps”

  1. Andrew said

    I thought you bought Nazi stamps from the Gestapost Office?

  2. Samantha said

    Well said! I 100% agree.
    In Palma,Mallorca there’s a little shop that sells model soldiers and airplane models, etc… AND they had models of Stalin and Franco in the window display one day I walked by!!! Stop all this madness now I say!

  3. peter jay said

    Hi we all agree it was the most horrific times of the 20Th century but lets never forget it and the more you hide it away the more it will be forgotten the stamps and all other can you call it memorabilia i do not no should be there as a reminder it did happen 6 million people annihilated and more least we forget i do not think so regards peter P.S. my father fought for Britain

Leave a Reply

