The Sydenham Subversives

November 29, 2009

Ok, subversives is maybe taking things a bit too far, but someone is Sydenham has been up to a bit of mischief.

I’ve been indoors for the past two weeks, with an unusual bout of asthma. Now, I’m back. Like Arnie, except with a Salford accent and no muscles.

One of my first ventures was to head over to Ben and Sarah’s for lunch. They texted me; could I pick up some Bisto on the way? But of course. And so I headed to a nearby Sydenham shop. And I was delighted, along the way, to see that someone had defaced all the big adverts at the bus stops. Not in a nasty way, damaging for the hell of it, but in an oddly creative way, simply sticking bits of silver tape over any brand names. I still knew it was an advert for Nivea, but maybe Nivea won’t be too happy. And on another, they’d gone one step further by changing the slogan. I’m all for it. Having said that, I haven’t been getting out much.

8 Responses to “The Sydenham Subversives”

  1. Glad you are feeling better,

    I suppose you would call that something like economic vandalism.

    My friends and I used to make our own newsletter sheet with articles about things that interested us, and pin them up on public noticeboards when no one was looking.

  2. Trevor Neal said

    Sorry to lower the tone but there’s a street near me called Poorhole Lane. Someone regularly makes the effort to paint out the “r” – when the council clean it up or replace the sign they just do it again. It’s not big and it’s not clever, I know – but it is quite funny.

  3. surely i’m not the only person to giggle at the name ‘mudchute’ on london’s rattly docklands light railway (or ‘dlr’) system?

  4. Andrea said

    It’s obvious who the vandal is – the person who blacks out the words in the headline round on Have I Got News For You.

  5. I don’t think the vandalism of the posters was too bad – it was only cosmetic damage 🙂

    It doesn’t compare with Trev’s Poorhole Lane, but as a boy growing up in the Black Country, I’ve experienced repeat vandalism in Wolverhampton when someone regularly wrote under ‘St.Peter’s Square’, ‘I know he is!’. Again not big, nor clever, but very droll.

  6. Simon Hickson said

    The two Trevs, I like both your examples. I like to think the same person keeps coming out of their house opposite and doing it again, every time the grafitti (graffiti? I just don’t know! and can’t be arsed to check) is removed. year after year, some old man or woman who won’t stop until they are dead.

  7. Samantha said

    I’m all for it too! I used to live in Sydenham (about 13ish years ago) and this sort of thing would have made it a happier place 🙂

  8. Andrea said

    I grew up near Wolverhampton too, Trev H! You’re not related to Pamela Hickman, are you? I was at school with her. PS I never saw the St Peter’s vandalism. Sadly.

Leave a Reply

