When exactly do you mean?

May 8, 2009

I’m an old misery and I rarely get excited by things. What is there to be excited about when the best thing you’ve seen in your life is a monkey washing a cat in a sink?

But occasionally things come along that surprise me. And when they are computer related I’m even more surprised. Twitter, Facebook, blogging, they’re all good for a bit of a daft laugh but if they weren’t around we’d all get by with a few friends, a few books and a few drinks.

Then along comes Spotify. It took me a while to sign up. The name meant nothing to me and I didn’t know what I was getting into. I fear that every website or web thing is out to get me, to rob my bank accounts. Though I should know better. Any cyber criminals looking into my doings would more likely take pity and deposit rather than withdraw.

But Spotify has earned my love at the moment for this:

Popchor Berlin – How Soon Is Now (The Smiths)

popchor berlinWhen a song that meant so much to me in my youth can still mean so much to me in my old age maybe it’s time for a big rethink. Or just too late. I love this song and I love this version. I want to be in the Popchor Berlin (translation; Popchoir Berlin… or Berlin Pop Choir). I want to be their friends and I want to live in Berlin. I want to be called Herr Hans Hickson.

If you like this listen to their version of Devo’s Mongoloid. I like it. And I’ve never heard the original.

And why not try this slightly Flying Pickets style version of First of the Gang to Die:

Robin Danar – First of the Gang to Die

I know that sounds bad, and maybe it is, but I like it.

And this:

The Lancaster Orchestra – Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want

That’s enough for now. Give them a listen. drag yourself down and cheer yourself up.

2 Responses to “When exactly do you mean?”

  1. alex said

    That version of How soon is now is terrific! What a find! As Katie says, there’s something lovely about a group of people singing “I am human and I need to be loved” together. And with the accent!

  2. I have a friend who sounds exactly like Nico. Next time I see her, I’m going to ask her to sing How Soon Is Now. The lyrics sound even better when sung with a heavy German accent. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

