Let’s make it 1002 songs.

March 18, 2009

A while back the guardian told us of the 1000 books everyone must read. I, naturally, ranted against this. Here. 1000 books we all must read- the rant is obvious, but I will briefly reiterate it. I do not have enough lifetime left to read 1000 books that a bunch of journalists have picked just to fill some copy. It would take me, at my reading rate, 3780 years. I worked it out. Where I typed here up above, just go there. It’s all worked out.

Now they have 1000 songs everyone must hear. I’m not going to be silly and say what about the deaf (although it’s tempting and I guess I’ve gone and done it now) because I can’t really complain about this one. Books are a certain length, and so are songs, and yet, oddly, a book’s timeline is different for every reader while a song’s timeline is fixed. So, they’ve got me now. If I wanted, I could listen to all 1000 songs (and they are available online) in maybe a few days. I’m not going to. I have enough songs of my own to listen to (not songs I’ve written, but songs I’ve found and enjoyed for myself, or had recommended by friends).

And now I’d like to recommend two songs to the guardian that they have failed to list. Come on now guardian, you’re telling me I must listen to 1000, so please indulge me as I ask you kindly to listen to two.

The 1000 songs are divided into categories. yesterday was Sex. I was astonished that they left out June is Bustin’ Out all Over from Carousel. You think I’m joking? Look at these lyrics:

June is Bustin’ out all over!
The ocean is full of Jacks and Jills
With her little tail a-swishin’
Every lady fish is wishin’
That a male will come and grab her by the gills

And my favourite lines:

All the rams that chase the ewe sheep
Are determined there’ll be new sheep
And the ewe sheep aren’t even keepin’ score

And why? Because it’s June.

Today was the turn of Protest and Politics. But nothing by Tim Siddall aka The Boycott Coca Cola Experience. Please, whoever is reading this, please take a look at him singing Gas on YouTube. Never has protest and politics been such fun. And he knows about fun- Look for him singing Fun on YouTube. And Darling too. Do look. You won’t regret it. And if you, The Guardian, read this, you look too please. If you look at my one choice- Gas– I’ll try and mellow towards your 1000.

See you all on the line out of London.

5 Responses to “Let’s make it 1002 songs.”

  1. Samantha said

    Fantastic words I agree! – All the rams that chase the ewe sheep
    Are determined there’ll be new sheep
    And the ewe sheep aren’t even keepin’ score

    More Musical info/writing please on this great blog,(as you say you are a musicals fan) – it made my day!

  2. Simon Hickson said

    Thank you Samantha for your kind words. Hopefully I will get around to writing more about musicals. The choir I am in are currently singing “This nearly was mine” by Rodgers and Hammerstein, a beautiful song.

  3. Samantha said

    Thanks Simon for your reply..That also made my day!! I’m working my way though your trev&simon podcasts…they are great, very entertaining, I can’t stop grinning!

    Also, I must say how great your photos are on your blog. You are a really talented photographer.

    I must join a choir or something (I was a working musical theatre actress/singer for about 4 years,after drama school…but gave it all up years ago…lost my nerve somewhere along the line) I still love singing though, I love Rodgers & Hammerstein and almost all musicals and Sondheim! Where’s your choir?

  4. Simon Hickson said

    If you live near East Dulwich, come and join us. We are Note-orious. Details here… http://note-orious.co.uk/default.aspx
    Oh, and thank you for the kind comments about my photographs. I like taking pics, but I just have a fairly straighforward digital camera. One day I will try and get a digital SLR.

  5. Samantha said

    I’ve filled on the online form to join the waiting list! I love the music you do. I’ve looked into a few choirs but most are a bit too classical for me.

Leave a Reply

