That’s how people grow up

February 23, 2009

barbed-wire1

I don’t live near a prison. As I walk back from the cafe, I pass through Hither Green’s hinterland; the road that runs along the railway line that’s full of businesses that mind their own business. And they make sure you don’t stick your nose in by using prison-like preventative measures. it’s Prison Break in reverse.

One of the more open and accessible businesses is Joy Skip Hire. I like this place. I like it because, in a way that I don’t fully understand, I take their business name as a command.

As I passed it today though, I was saddened. Is this how it ends for us all? Is this what becomes of a dad? I’m afraid that the answer is likely to be yes.

joy-skip-hireAs I write this Morrissey sings:

I’m doing very well
I can block out the present and the past now
I know by now you think I should have straightened
myself out
thank you, drop dead

That’s from Something is squeezing my skull from his new LP Years of Refusal. The title of this post is the title of another track.

If I’ve dragged you down, I’m sorry. Let me end on two bright notes. On Saturday, Broadstairs looked like this:

broadstairs-beachAnd a quote from Dan Leno:

“Birth is something which comes to all of us sooner or later…”

4 Responses to “That’s how people grow up”

  1. Trevor Neal said

    Morrissey himself would be proud to have written a blog posting of this calibre – Neil Morrissey that is – only joking – thought provoking stuff and yes the idea of ending up in a skip did drag me down a little but I was immediately cheered by a splendid photo of Broadstairs. In case you didn’t know, I’m a local resident of the Broadstairs locality and that is Stone Bay – much loved and frequented by locals. I will contact my local paper at once and inform them of this item of local interest.

    Many thanks. Keep up the good work but how about a bit less of the mind misery and more fascinating pieces about East Kent. I look forward to more Broadstairs based blogs with great excitement.

    In the meantime you and your readers may wish to pay a visit to this splendid site…

    http://www.broadstairs.gov.uk/Core/Broadstairs/Pages/Default.aspx

  2. Maisie said

    Since I’ve now hit my thirties I’m going through a mini-crisis and have no desire to grow up which is how in a vain attempt to recapture my childhood I came across you’re blog.

    During my quest to recapture my youth I have come across this band called No More Kings which I think you might like check out the video for their song Sweep The Leg cause its funny (some trivia about the vid the men in the trailer are the original cobra kai cast members). As a tribute to your liking of horror films I thought you might also like the song Zombie Me (my personal fav). Check them out at http://www.nomorekings.com

    I’m away to flush myself down the toilet

    Yours throughly depressed Maisie

  3. Jason said

    hey maybe the dad made a miraculous recovery and so they threw the wreath away. Loved the Broadstairs pic – “great sky MacIntyre. well done.”

  4. Simon Hickson said

    Hi Maisie. Nice website for No More Kings. And that Pete guy should sue Marti Pellow (or vice versa).

Leave a Reply

