Angry at an advert

February 9, 2009

Maybe it’s because I’ve not had the best of weekends.

Saturday; a three mile journey to a surprise birthday party for a friend took four hours. The RAC visited me twice. I ended up getting the bus. At one point I was whizzing towards a roundabout at 40mph in a car that had no power; no breaking, no acceleration… even the cassette player was out. That was fun. I left at 4.45pm and got to the party at 9pm. And I was meant to be helping set up the surprise. Sorry Sarah.

Sunday; off to JFK’s for a pool tournament. By train. In the first round I was beaten by Frank Costello 5-0. Not the gangster Frank Costello, nor the other gangster Frank Costello played by Jack Nicholson in The Departed.  This Frank’s scarier. Frank plays for the England Youth Team and I was never going to win. But one or two frames would have been nice. Then, in a competition for the losers called The Plate, I was beaten by Lee Mager 4-1. I’m pleased to say that Mager is pronounced Major. Other players who have walked through the doors of JFK’s include Keith Richards, Peter Pan, Dan Brown, and Michael Clayton. That’s Lee below from when we (JFK Rejects) played the Pineapple two weeks ago. We won that match 8-4. And I won both of my games. See! I don’t always lose.

Alan Day, Tony Bailey, Lee Mager, Andy Law

Alan Day, Tony Bailey, Lee Mager, Andy Law

So maybe that’s why I’m angry at this advert.

norwich-union

Do I need anger management? Should I let such a thing fester away? And I’m angry for so many reasons.

Yes, Leningrad changed its name to  St. Petersburg. Yes, Norwich Union has changed its name to Aviva (making it sound like a duff car from the seventies). But no, no, no! Pierce Brosnan hasn’t changed his name to Daniel Craig! It’s just wrong. If they’d have put “Brosnan’s Bond to Craig’s Bond” I may just have accepted it, but “Brosnan to Craig?” What? What does that mean?

That’s my first cause to anger. Then I became even more angry as I realised I couldn’t stop thinking about it. And every time I thought about it I thought of Norwich Union and Aviva. Those damned advertising bastards had succeeded.

But wait. As I get even more angrier I see that they’ve succeeded in planting their campaign in my brain, but it is such a shit campaign, I will now forever think of Norwich Union/ Aviva as being a company associated with shit.

And to think I have an endowment policy with them, but no house.

Oh, what the hell, let’s have a poll on this one.

2 Responses to “Angry at an advert”

  1. Simon, I get it. I react exactly the same way to some of the more recent Visa ‘Priceless’ ads, where the thing that’s supposed to be ‘priceless’ isn’t ‘priceless’ at all. It makes me so angry I want to slam the phone down!! As Mr Angry used to say on the Steve Wright Show.

  2. Ben Norris said

    I’m so angry I’ve got bits of puke in my beard,.. you are right about the quite clear error in the poster, typical of these corporate shysters (is that how you spell it?) And to site the example of Leningrad to St.Petersburg, well, wasn’t it in fact called St.Petersburg before it was changed to Leningrad? in which case shall we expect Aviva to eventually be overthrown and the company become Norwich Union again when everybody sees sense ?

Leave a Reply

