Seven Pounds

January 7, 2009

caltrain

I went to San Francisco for the day yesterday. Here I am as the train pulls into Sunnyvale station at 8.13am. Once in San Francisco, it rained and rained. Or rather, drizzled. It left me with no appetite for trooping around, or even taking any pictures. I considered a trip to SFMOMA (the Museum of Modern Art) but again, my heart wasn’t in it.

So after doing my best for a while, I gave up and went to the pictures. I went to see Seven Pounds.

Is Jonathan Ross back on yet? Has he been forgiven? Let me get in with my Film 2009 review ahead of him, if I can. Let me get in ahead of Seven Pounds being released in the UK. Has it been released yet? I hope not. I like to think I’m ahead of the game.

Years ago, I used to come to the States and see films months before they came out in the UK. I’d come home and show off, like a kid from the future. Sometimes months would go by before my friends could be as hip as me. I remember seeing The Quantum of Solace in Boise, Idaho in 1977, when smooth-talking Roger Moore was James Bond. By the time it was released in the UK, in 2008, Roger had left the movie, replaced by the thuggish Daniel Craig.

Years and years and years ago, when I was a child, the film process was even slower. If you missed a movie at the pictures (or a picture at the movies) you had to wait five years for it to show up on TV. Now, it’s out on an illegal terrorist-funding DVD before it’s even been written.

The world is speeding up and we’re all racing towards death.

So, where was I? Oh yes. Seven Pounds and my attempt to swipe the Film 2009 gig from under Mr. Ross’ nose.

Seven Pounds is a bit like Mamma Mia. You’re either going to go with it, or you’re going to go against it. I went with it and cried and cried.

That’s it really. That’s my review. Unless I go ahead and spoil it for you.

I am going to write one more thing, and if you think you may go and see Seven Pounds, look away, because whilst it’s not quite a plot spoiler, it is a kind of plot teaser, and it’s may be best to go along and see the film without a clue.

Here goes. You wait an age for a Will Smith film to come along where he shares a bath with a non- human life form and then two come along at once. That’s it. Go on Will, do a third and make it a real bus story.

In I am Legend Will shares a bath with Sam, his dog. If you haven’t seen I am Legend, and if you’re thinking, that’s not a film for me, give it a go, it might surprise you. And Sam’s side of the story will have you in tears.

Hmm, perhaps I cry too easily at Will Smith films.

Two dogs, SF, 2006

Two dogs, SF, 2006

4 Responses to “Seven Pounds”

  1. do people commute on socking great freight trains in SF?!

  2. Bruce said

    Seven pounds is being trailed at the moment. Is this the first film where the title and the admission fee are the same?

  3. Simon Hickson said

    Two answers;the trains are double deckers! and yes Bruce, except they are inverting the title/currency formula. In Britain it will be called “Seven Dollars”.

  4. Bruce said

    ..the exchange rate has changed so it might have to be called “For a few dollars more”

Leave a Reply

