This week Matthew, I have mostly been Paul Weller.

December 15, 2008

thanet-1As I race against time, wasting it when I should be packing to go to America, I manage to confuse Stars in their Eyes with The Fast Show. And also, when did Matthew Kelly last present Stars in their Eyes? What nonsense will I type next? Will I summon forth the ghost of Leslie Crowther? No.

Here’s Trev, my comedy partner, with his band, Thanet City Rockers… Like Clash City Rockers except they all live in Thanet. And as you can see, he is Welleresque. This photo was taken as they sang “Down in the Tube Station”… Just at the point where Alan the drummer went mentaler than Rick Buckler… just before that bit that goes “the last thing that I saw as I lay there on the floor was Jesus saves painted by an atheist nutter…”. This was their Christmas gig. Happy Christmas one and all. Just for friends and family mind. And so it came to pass that Trev’s mum heard him sing, “I’m down in the tube station at midnight, the wine will be flat and the curry’s gone cold”.

It wasn’t all Jam. There was The Clash, Bowie, The Buzzcocks, The Who, T Rex, The Smiths (Metal Guru merges into Panic). Yes, Trev’s kids, that’s your dad singing, “Hang the DJ”. Happy Christmas everyone.

Well done Paul, Trev, Alan and Dave. A great gig and a great night. Happy Christmas to all friends and family, and anyone out there.

Finally, some lyrics from Rebel Rebel.

“Doo doo doo-doo doo doo doo doo
Doo doo doo-doo doo doo doo doo
Doo doo doo-doo doo doo doo doo”

Yes kids, it’s your dads singing doo-doo over and over again. I don’t know, the parents of today!

Paul, Alan, Trev & Dave- Thanet City Rockers

Paul, Alan, Trev & Dave- Thanet City Rockers

One Response to “This week Matthew, I have mostly been Paul Weller.”

  1. Trevor Neal said

    I’m honoured that you’ve devoted a whole blog to me and Thanet City Rockers -with TWO pics! – thanks Simon. Not sure about looking like Paul Weller though – maybe Joe Brown and his Bruvvers..? It wasn’t all miserable, un-Christmassy lyrics either – I Fought the Law? – “robbing people with a six gun…Oh, hang on…er…Eton Rifles? “beaten and bloody and I was sick down my shirt”…Oh hang on…er…well we did throw sweets out to the kids…which started a fight…Oh well – Merry Christmas One and All!

Leave a Reply

