Happy Birthday Mummified Fox

November 7, 2009

A year ago today I wrote my first blog entry. You can find it here. It’s a test one really, not about much; though in saying that I do Bobbin and Tess a disservice.

A year ago I was full of crazy excitement. Blogging was a new adventure. I hadn’t got a clue what I would write. I felt that bit by bit, writing at least a post a day, I would find my feet and discover why I was doing this.

A year on I’ve slowed down a bit. No post every day, but I try for a couple a week. And I’ve expanded. We’ve got the Trev and Simon blog on the go, and I’ve started 20th Century Mummified Fox- a blog where I can indulge in my love of films.

I still don’t know why I’m doing this. I haven’t found my feet. Of course it’s an indulgence; no doubt I am showing off, but showing off what? It’s not a comedy blog. It’s not some kind of confessional. I’m no film critic. Nor a photographer. But this blog is made up of bits of all of these. And lots of animals.

And it keeps me busy when times are tough. I enjoy it. And so, sometimes, do some of you. All of the people who come here and read or look, thank you. I know there’s lots of blogs out there, blah blah blah airline appreciation speech.

And thank you all for your comments. I enjoy reading them and I enjoy the interaction. And, to my pleasant surprise, the comments over the year have been thoughtful and considered, even when being critical. I haven’t, as yet, had to delete any for taking the chance to hurl abuse at me. Still, there’s time. My blog is just a baby.

Since the whole blogging thing is one enormous indulgence, for Mummified Fox’s first birthday I am going to pick some of my blog favourites from my 234 posts. One from each month.

November 2008- This and That’s Entertainment. Every year I go to Great Yarmouth to play pool. But which is best, Great Yarmouth or Las Vegas?

December 2008- Tommie Smith and John Carlos. I drag my family to see the Tommie Smith and John Carlos statue in San Jose.

January 2009- Murderer. Me, Trev and Cyndi Lauper have a close shave with Coronation Street murderer Tony Gordon.

February 2009- Deal or No Deal on the Dole. Ok, a bit of a weird one. this is a story about Deal or No Deal, Noel Edmonds, a luckless contestant, and Cosmic ordering.

March 2009- The Nazis. I drew them at school and only got a B+.

April 2009- A Nightingale sang in the 100 Club. A sort of review of the Nightingales and Ted Chippington.

May 2009- “Yes, I spent money on furniture”. Shadow Education Secretary Michael Gove and the elephant lamps we bought him. Including comments from the man himself (or so it seems).

June 2009- Pigs, a goose and a sheep. Just as it says.

July 2009- I’m going to cheat here and mention two posts. I’m not quite sure why it’s cheating; there’s no rules, it’s my blog. But at the top of this post I did say I’d pick one from each month, so yes, I am cheating. First Like the circles that you find- a guide to reglazing windows. And also RIP Rob. Rob sold the Big Issue outside Hither Green station. He died in July.

August 2009- Little and Large. My mum and dad used to go to The Talk of the North in the 70’s and see all the top acts. Years later I get to meet one of them.

September 2009- The Rogers Brothers and the Cox twins. The real life inspiration for two of our characters.

October 2009- Bigmouth strikes again. Possibly my most personal and indulgent post and also my most commented on.

So there’s some of my favourites for the year. If you click on any of them I hope you enjoy them. And if you do, please look at some of the remaining 221 posts.

I was going to use the blog’s first birthday to say why it’s called Mummified Fox. but I’m going to save that for next year.

Mummified-Fox-1st-birthday

Happy 1st Birthday Mummified Fox

11 Responses to “Happy Birthday Mummified Fox”

  1. Jefy said

    Happy Birthday you old Foxssil

  2. HAPPY BLOGTHDAY

    My favourite was the snail family.

  3. Simon Hickson said

    Thank you Prof and Jefy. The snail family can be found here- http://simonhickson.wordpress.com/2009/07/11/four-snails-and-a-chip/

  4. Sally said

    And I always wondered WHY it was mummified fox….indeed where the hell you GOT a mummfied fox from….I suppose I’ll just have to keep reading then….

  5. Darrell said

    Congratulations Simon. Keep up the good work.

    Shocked and appalled to hear about the ‘Traingate’ incident. Admittedly only having you met you the once, but I can imagine you to be a softly spoken quiet kinda a chap.

    Still love the Micheal Gove post (with added wonderful photos).

  6. Simon Hickson said

    It’s not that exciting Sally, so when the big reveal comes I may have to make up a story.

    Cheers, Darrell. I love imagining. It’s the best way to live. I am softly spoken, indside, bout outside I am, unfortunately, a big mouth. And I’m not speaking geographically, although in the case of that particular post I guess I was.

  7. Trevor Neal said

    Happy Blogging Birthday to my softly spoken, quiet friend. Sorry about your lost feet.

  8. Andrea said

    Happy blog birthday, Simon. Mummified Fox is wonderful – I always enjoying reading your posts (and see your photographs), it’s been brilliant to follow you on this journey. (As opposed to following you on the train journey where you talked too loudly, which would have been really annoying ;-)). Here’s to the next year… xx

  9. Samantha said

    Happy blog birthday! I especially love the animal photos, you are a great photographer. Personally I think blogs are great when they don’t have an agenda, a few blogs I used to read now have sponsors and have become a bit business-y and don’t have the heart Mummified Fox has! Please keep posting on all 3 blogs, I enjoy them all :-)

  10. Having only been switched on to your blog for the past six months or so, I think it’s a great idea that you’ve highlighted some of your favourite posts from the past year. I shall enjoy delving back into the archives – keep up the good work.

  11. Jason said

    Happy bithday sir – quite chatty for a one year-old. What was your first word – perhaps a question to be addressed in a future podcast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

